When In Rome

Here I am, blogging. At least “blogging” isn’t as sketchy sounding as “skyping” someone (Missy recently informed me that I sound very risqué when I tell her that I am skyping my boyfriend).

Maybe I was inspired by all of my “suitemates” and their cool blogs. Maybe I was just bored because I had already finished my fresh-out-of-the-oven scone that my mom brought to my room. Maybe I figured that I was going to have a rough summer and a blog would be a good way to focus and reflect. Maybe it was the fact that Emma B would be sitting around in a bookstore all day, with nothing better to do than read my boring post. Or maybe it is the hipster atmosphere already rubbing off on me. I DID just move to California, so it was either start a blog or learn how to surf (and Will already told me that I am not allowed to get a guy to teach me how to surf, so where’s the fun in that?).

Watch this transition:

A few weeks ago, I began my 3,000 mile trek across the country (well, I drove). I had been planning for it for weeks, and worrying about it for months. It was going to be impossible to find the money for gas, and it was very unlikely that my car would make it the whole way. (1) As usual, my worrying was useless. God provided for me in unimaginable ways, (2) through some of the most generous people I know. (3) I had to get rid of a lot of belongings, because they would not all fit in the car. I did not really mind so much—the journey (and making it home) was much more important than the printer, or that skirt, or this pair of shoes. Long story short, we made it across the country without a scratch. (4) I made some new, wonderful, encouraging friendships. I grew closer to Hayley, and grew in my faith. (5) I became a beast highway driver. The car never broke down. We did run out of gas one time. For 36 desert miles in California, we drove with the lights and AC off, (6) praying that we would make it to the gas station before we ran out of gas. We didn’t—we pulled into desert center to find that there had not been a working gas station in that town since the fifties. Thankfully, my wonderful driving companion made it an excellent time. We explored the ghost town, snapping pictures, hiding from truckers, chatting up mail-women, and angering watch-dogs. Looking back, that time in Desert Center was some of the most fun I had during our trip. (7) Eventually, I got to Ventura, almost a week later than I had originally planned. That extra time had allowed me to say some important goodbyes and some important hellos to friends and family on both sides of the country.

Now to the point of my rambling:

  1. Every time, I worry. and Every time, it is pointless. God has his plan. I just need to follow Him and sit in awe as I watch His wisdom unfold.
  2. I hope to be as giving as others have been to me.
  3. Nothing I have on this earth is in ANY way comparable to the vast importance and joy of this journey or home that I have with God. If something will not fit in my Galant to heaven, then what am I still doing holding on to it?
  4. I cannot expect to enjoy the block party of heaven if I am not neighbors with my fellow Christians now.
  5. There have been a lot of challenges in life that have honed my skills or virtues or just highlighted ways that I needed to grown. I know it is cliche, but trials really are catalysts for growth.
  6. Many times, I will pray for something, and I will not get it. Sometimes, it will seem like something I had deserved (“And, behold, it was Leah.”) But sometimes what I get instead is a huge blessing in disguise. If I let my unwanted circumstances or my unanswered prayers get between me and God, then I am missing what it means to be a Christian and I am probably missing some really cool experiences.
  7. I have a tendency to go overboard with the whole efficiency thing. I need to learn to take time out to love people and enjoy life and grow. If my schedule doesn’t leave room for service and for relationship and for yogurt with my cousin and for a last dunkin with my roommate and for breakfast with my grandma (yes, that was a lot of food), then maybe I should just throw out my schedule. Jesus had time for people.

So, now I am in Ventura. Job hunting, spending time with siblings, spending time with coffee, spending time at the Y, finding myself, finding God, getting my car legal for the first time in two years, and hitting up the thrift store as often as a polyester-addict.

Love you all,

Cannedjello

*Also, I am not really into that whole “Proofreading” movement, so if this is boring or grammatically ugly, your loss. No apologies.

Awkward Moment #1

These two pictures were shown at the Oil Scholarship Banquet. Side by side, they looked really awkward. “Look, I can lean left, or I can lean right!”

ImageImage

3 thoughts on “When In Rome

  1. I enjoyed the silliness of the scholarship dinner, beginning with the leaning photo poses. And, dinosaurs are not extinct, they’re birds.

Leave a Reply

