Closing Time

This wasn’t what I was going to blog about. I was going to blog about that time my toddler friend yelled “I’m a baby peacock!” when he got hurt. Or the fact that I (of all people) am a security guard, and how I like to think of myself as Emma from Once Upon A Time (I mean, Sherif, SSO, same thing). I was going to blog about how I openly yelled at the top of my lungs in at least 10 stores on black friday, because I am a psych major like that.

I just wanted to tell you all that I am listening to my Closing Time playlist on my iPod. I know that I am not one of those people who has good taste or ear for music. Sarah can tell you, I am pretty much the worst DJ in the whole clan. Oops, I meant the whole state. I basically just stay away from the whole medium and let other people take care of that for me. I enjoy subscribing to Bingham’s Spotify playlists and enjoying what she has picked out for me without having to think about it.

That being said, sometimes I have to create my own playlists. This summer, I got stuck working at Chick-Fil-A again, and I even got stuck closing sometimes. If you have ever worked at a fast food restaurant, you understand. You understand how hot it is. How boring and simultaneously busy it is. How annoying it can be. How messy it is. How fast-paced it is. How physically demanding it is. How difficult it is to wash dishes without getting covered in raw chicken guts. How difficult it is to close in under an hour when everyone you work with is lazy, incompetent, new, or pregnant. How refreshing it is when you turn off the lights and lock the doors, just knowing that no more customers are coming in and making messes, and you can just focus on the task of closing. How fulfilled and accomplished you feel after you close quickly and the store looks all pretty and sparkly. How it makes you feel good, even though you know that in a mere 6 hours, the store will be messy all over again, and in a mere 22 hours, you will be closing it again.

You also probably know how much more fun it can be to close when you have your own music to motivate you. So, by my third rodeo, I created a Closing Time playlist, specifically designed to help me Dazzle the fridges at 10:35 and scrub the floors at 10:42.

The funny thing is that my Closing Time playlist turned out to be, like, all of my favorite up-beat songs that I own, and it turned out to be my favorite music for any Closing Time. Any rough spot. Any final push or long haul.

I have to admit, right now, Work This Out (HSM2) is playing. And I’m Freaking Loving It. And I’m Freaking Loving That This Semester Is Over In Three Weeks. I have laundry going, two floors above me. I have sticky notes for each day of the week laid out on my desk. I have my clothes put away and my phone is charging. My grades are all hovering right around or below where I want them. It’s closing time.Ā 

Sorry that there are no fun links, videos, or pictures in this post, and that I didn’t proofread this at all.

But c’mon fool. It’s closing time. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Leave a Reply

