Hi, I’m Emma, and I’m a Sinaholic.

There are a lot of things that I could tell you about. I could tell you about the “ancient history” of this semester—about the Chick-fil-a camp-out with the clan, the homeless woman who couldn’t bear to give up smoking weed for 24 hours so that she could camp out with us, about Chinese New Year in Chinatown, and how my computer crashed. I could tell you about my spring break–about the massive number of Benadryl that I begged, borrowed, stole, and consumed, about the wonderful friends that I was able to see for a painfully short amount of time, about the Chick-fil-a football and karaoke funtimes, about freshman-style slumber parties, successful SWSOTCOs, awkward bible classes, 3rd wheeling all over town, hoodtrat times with old friends, getting in trouble with Shirley, and a precious country music night. I could tell you about this coming week—about how Tiffany and Laney are spending the entire week with us, and how we’re calling it Spring Break Part 2, about how we went to a DPS dinner last night and followed it up with trying to get into Justin Beiber’s neighborhood, about how it’s 1:40pm and we are finally getting ready for the day.

But who has time for that? Honestly, I don’t have any cleverly devised, plotted post to share with you. I guess I’ll just share a story, ramble, and then throw some pictures at the end so y’all will be appeased.

One of my classes (psychopharmacology) is all about drugs. Sure, the class with the narc was pretty intense: he brought in a diverse and plentiful array of drugs for us to try…I mean…study. That, however, was nothing compared to our out of class assignment. Long story short, I found myself at an AA meeting with one of my friends, desperately hoping that I would not get called on by the group leader. The whole thing was really interesting, and it broke a lot of my prior stereotypes about substance abuse. They passed around a collection basket, read a passage (from their handbook), and said the serenity prayer. There were people from all walks of life there–but they shared a key thing in common: they were all struggling, at varying levels, to keep this new life and leave the slavery of substance in the past. Many of them emphasized over the course of the evening that in order for them to stay free from alcohol they needed to stay totally committed and involved in AA. They said that life was so much more worth living now, but that it was still hard. They went to meetings more than once a week, even though they were kind of a drive.

It was like they were playing church, and that made it kind of sad. But sometimes I think we can learn from copies: we can see key aspects of our purpose that we are overlooking, and areas where knock-offs are doing good. They were all so open about their struggles, how many days they were clean and what they were still having trouble with. They shared with each other, served each other, and all openly recognized their flaws (“Hi, I’m John, and I’m an alcoholic”). They were committed to the group and viewed each other as family, because, no matter their other differences, they had the same goal: staying sober. I want us to be more like that. A group of people with the same goal: staying free from the slavery of sin, helping each other towards that goal, serving each other in that, and, where I think we fail most, honestly, openly, admitting and living the transparency of humility:

Hi, I’m Emma, and I’m a sinaholic. Right now I am struggling with putting God first in my life, and with trusting Him enough to not worry about the next day, or where my food or shelter or clothing will come from. I have too much hatred in my heart, but I’m improving. I’m learning to value relationships with God and with others over all the distracting stuff going on down here. And I’m learning a whole lot about drugs this semester, too.

Now here are some pictures (sorry for the quality):

I don’t have time to edit this, because we’re going to Santa Monica, so I’m sorry for that too (William) (Emma).

Leave a Reply

